Hone Sadler and Kara George to lead Ngāpuhi settlement entity Tūhoronuku Independent Mandated Authority

Ngāpuhi settlement entity Tūhoronuku Independent Mandated Authority (Tūhoronuku IMA) today elected Hone Sadler and Kara George as Chairman and Deputy Chairman for the next year as Ngāpuhi negotiates its Treaty settlement with the Crown.

For the past ten weeks Sam Napia has been Tūhoronuku IMA’s Acting Chairman and Moana Tuwhare Deputy Chairman, following the stepping aside of the previous Chairman, Raniera Tau. Mr Tau remains a trustee of Tūhoronuku IMA.

The elections were held at a special Tūhoronuku board meeting in Paihia today, attended by 20 of the entity’s 22 trustees, with one voting by proxy.

Last month the Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations, Hon. Christopher Finlayson, confirmed the historic Ngāpuhi settlement negotiations had begun and he expected Agreement in Principle to be reached in 2016.

Mr Sadler said he wished to thank and acknowledge the commitment of the Acting Chair and Deputy Chair, for their leadership over the interim period.

He also wanted to pay special tribute to the role of Raniera Tau, who has tirelessly led the Ngāpuhi settlement journey from its inception to this point where we have begun negotiations with the Crown.

E kara e Sonny, me pēhea rā e taea he mihi rangatira mōu ka ārahi I tō iwi. Aroha nui.

For further information please contact Kipa Munro
Mobile: 027 555 3852
Email: kipa.munro@tuhoronuku.co.nz

Tūhoronuku Independent Mandated Authority is the mandated entity to represent all Ngāpuhi - no matter where we live – to negotiate a settlement of our Ngāpuhi Te Tiriti o Waitangi grievances against the Crown. The primary source for all Ngāpuhi settlement information is www.tuhoronuku.com